Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Atomic, the album, is composed of reworked versions of music Mogwai recorded for the soundtrack to director Mark Cousins’ acclaimed documentary Atomic: Living In Dread and Promise, which first aired on BBC Four in 2015. 

Constructed entirely of archive film, Atomic: Living In Dread and Promise is an impressionistic kaleidoscope of our nuclear times, from protest marches, Cold War sabre­rattling, Chernobyl and Fukushima to x­rays and MRI scans. Mogwai’s soundtrack encapsulates the nightmare of the nuclear age, but its dreamlike qualities too.

“Some of their most compelling work to date”​­ 5*, The Skinny
“A thing of immersive, undeniably affecting potency” ​­ 4*, MOJO
“Mogwai prove once more that they’re a constantly evolving beast of a band”​­ 4*, DIY
“It holds a brutalist, otherworldly thrall all its own”​­ 4*, The Quietus
“Magnificently un­easy listening”​­ 4*, Metro


  1. Ether
  2. SCRAM
  3. Bitterness Centrifuge
  4. U-235
  5. Pripyat
  6. Weak Force
  7. Little Boy
  8. Are You A Dancer?
  9. Tzar
  10. Fat Man

Released: 1st April 2016